Phoenix Travel Guide
Phoenix Travel
» Phoenix Travel Guide
Phoenix Restaurants
Phoenix Hotels
Phoenix Used Cars
Phoenix Car Dealerships
Phoenix Real Estate
Phoenix Travel Information
Phoenix Golf Courses
Phoenix Sports Teams
Phoenix Jobs
Things to do in Phoenix
Phoenix Hotspots
Phoenix Facts
Phoenix Plumbers
» Phoenix Sports Teams

Phoenix Sports

Phoenix, the Arizona’s capital is the home of many professional sports teams. The greater Phoenix area also offers visitors an array of impressive cultural attractions. Phoenix is a city with an array of championship events. You can always find a sporting event within the city including baseball, football, basketball, hockey and more. You should never miss the chance of watching live sporting event in the Phoenix. Some of the best teams in the Phoenix, Arizona are listed below:

Phoenix Coyotes,

Phoenix Suns,

Arizona Rattlers,

Arizona Diamondbacks

  • Phoenix Coyotes
    A professional ice hockey team, Phoenix Coyotes is based in the Phoenix suburb of Glendale. The team plays in the National Hockey League. In the very beginning the team was known as Winnipeg Jets but in 1996 the name changed to Phoenix Coyotes. In the same year the team also drafted some new players like Jeremy Roenick.

    In 2002, the team posted total 95 points but still missed the playoffs. In 2003, the Coyotes moved to Glendale Arena that is known as known as Arena from America West Arena. In 2005, the superstar Wayne Gretzky was signed as the head coach of the team. In the same year the team also drafted Brett Hull, son of former Jets great Bobby Hull.

    The Phoenix Coyotes franchise is presently the oldest National Hockey League team that  has never appeared in the Stanley Cup Finals. In 2006, the Coyotes drafted several new players, including goaltender Mikael Tellqvist; defensemen Nick Boynton, Ed Jovanovski, Travis Roche and many more…The team wears uniforms of colors: Brick Red, Light Khaki, Black, and White.

  • Phoenix Suns
    A professional basketball team, Phoenix Suns are based in Phoenix, Arizona. The team plays in the National Basketball Association (NBA).  The team was founded in 1968. The team play their home games in US Airways Center. Mike D'Antoni is the current head coach of the team. The Phoenix Suns have won five division titles and two conference titles.

    In the late '70s and early '80s, the team made the playoffs for 8 seasons in a row. In 1992, the team drafted flamboyant all-star power forward Charles Barkley. In 1993, the Barkley won his first Most Valuable Player (MVP) award. Soon, the team drafted new players such as Daniel Ainge and Richard Dumas. Further the team acquired attention from the the entire state of Arizona and the nation as well.

    The Suns began the 2006 Western Conference Playoffs as favorites against the Los Angeles Lakers and the team went on to win three straight games. Because of the "run and gun" style of play the Suns has become the most entertaining team to basketball fans in Arizona and throughout the NBA. The team wears uniforms of colors: Purple, Orange, White, and Gray.

  • Arizona Rattlers
    An Arena Football League team, Arizona Rattlers are based in Phoenix, Arizona. The team was founded in 1992 and is recognized as one of the top franchises in the AFL. Since 1992, the Rattlers have won eight Wild Card titles, five division titles, five conference titles, and two Arena Bowl Championships.

    The team play their home games in the US Airways Center. Danny White served as the head coach of the Arizona Rattlers from 1992 to 2004. On August 5, 2004 Todd Shell was appointed as the head coach of the team but Shell resigned on September 1, 2005 following his arrest for possession of cocaine.

    The year 2006 was a little disappointing for the Arizona Rattlers, loosing to their rivals, the San Jose Saber Cats, early in the playoffs. Rattlers are considered as one of the Arena Football teams with the longest tenure in one city. The teams’ copper-colored helmets and rattlesnake logo make them one of the AFLs most popular.

  • Arizona Diamondbacks
    A Major League Baseball team, Arizona Diamondbacks are based in Phoenix, Arizona. The team was founded in 1998 and since then the team has won one World Series title, one NL Pennant and three West Division titles. The team plays in the West Division of the National League.

    In  1998, the Arizona Diamondbacks played their first game against the Colorado Rockies at Chase Field. But was defeated by the world champions, White Sox. During its second season the Diamondbacks won the National League West division. The 2001 was the Arizona Diamondbacks most successful year when they beat the storied New York Yankees to win the most thrilling World Series.

    Phoenix City Guide

    The Arizona Diamondbacks play in gorgeous Bank One Ball Park that was later nicknamed “The BOB” and is located in the heart of downtown Phoenix. In 2007, the Arizona Diamondbacks will have a young team that includes Brandon Webb, Orlando Hudson, Conor Jackson, Stephen Drew, Carlos Quentin, Chad Tracy, Chris Young, and Miguel Montero.

» Ads by Google
Phoenix City Guide About Advertise Sitemap Contact E-mail